### DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE DIVISION OF CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION SPECIAL SERVICES BUREAU



### **Crime Victim Compensation Program**

# DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE OFFICE OF VICTIM SERVICES

- Crime Victim Compensation
  - Restitution
- Orders of Protection
- Montana Hope Card Service
- Address Confidentiality Program
- Forensic Rape Exam Payment Program
- Domestic Violence Fatality Review Commission
- Sexual Assault Kit Initiative
  - Victim Services Montana Department of Justice (dojmt.gov)

### CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION PROGRAM

#### Created in 1978 to help survivors injured or killed in a violent crime.

- Personal injury crime that occurs in Montana.
- Montana resident injured in a state that doesn't cover out of state residents.
- Montana resident injured in a foreign country.

#### **Funding Sources.**

- State General Fund.
- Federal Grant Office for Victims of Crime.
- Funds recovered from restitution, subrogation and donations.

# **DEFINING SURVIVORS**



### **Secondary Victim**

- Immediately family members of child sexual abuse.
  - \*\*\*Parents of child sexual abuse victims are now eligible for a wage loss benefit.
- Immediate family members of homicide victims.
- Minor children who witness domestic violence.
- Secondary victims are eligible for mental health counseling only.
  - \*\*\*Secondary victims cannot be awarded if the primary victim is denied.

# **BENEFITS OFFERED**

- Hospital
- Physicians
- Prescription medications
- Dental
- Glasses/contacts
- Mental health treatment

- Prosthetic devices
- Funeral
- Medical travel expenses
- Wage loss
- Death benefits
- Ambulance

### FY23 BENEFITS PAID BY CATEGORY \$986,258.00



Benefit Payments

■ Doctor ■ Hospital ■ Wages ■ Mental Health Therapy ■ Funerals ■ Medical Travel

# **APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS**

- Must be 18 years of age or emancipated.
- Parent or guardian of a survivor under 18.
- Spouse or next of kin in a homicide case.
- Claim form must be fully completed and signed by the claimant.
- Application should be filed as soon as possible after the crime. DO NOT wait for outcome of the investigation or prosecution.

### **ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS**

- Crime required to be reported within 72 hours of the crime.
- Application benefits must be filed within one year of the crime.
- Full cooperation with law enforcement and prosecutor's office.
- Unjust enrichment or other collateral sources.
- Must comply with Crime Victim Compensation Program requests for information.
- No coverage for incarcerated individuals.
- Contribution the Program looks at the actions of both the offender and victim.
- Applicant cannot be deemed the offender or accomplice of the offender.
  - 53-9-101, MCA and 23.15.201 through 23.15.310, ARM.

# CLAIMS PROCESSING STAGES

1. Claim intake and initial processing

### 2. Eligibility determination

- Award
- Denial (Possible Appeal Process)

### 3. Benefit payment cycle

- Collateral Sources
- Benefits Paid
- 4. Restitution Recovery

### 5. Closure

### Written Notices for each stage

Survivor (claimant)

- Law Enforcement Agency
- City/County/Federal Prosecutor
- Medical Providers

# **COLLATERAL SOURCES**

- Private medical insurance
- Medicaid
- Medicare
- Life insurance
- Motor vehicle insurance
- Disability insurance
- Wage loss insurance

- Veteran's benefits
- Restitution
- Social Security benefits
- Workers' compensation
- Wage coverage insurance
- 3<sup>rd</sup> party civil suits
- Sick leave

\* In some cases, the Program can make exceptions to the collateral source requirement.

# **BENEFIT LIMITATIONS**

Maximum medical/wage loss payout per claim is \$25,000.

#### • Funeral benefit - \$10,000.00 maximum.

- \* may be used for a monument or transport of remains.
- \* HB183 passed in the 2023 MT Legislature raising the funeral benefit from \$3,500.00 to \$10,000.00.

#### Mental health benefits.

- \$150.00 maximum allowed per day.
- Therapist must be licensed in the state in which the services are provided.
- No in-patient or chemical dependency mental health can be considered.
- Primary victims \$2,000 or one year, whichever is reached first.
  \*extensions are available.

#### • Secondary victims are limited to \$5,000 or one year, whichever is reached first.

\*no extensions available.

## CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION PROGRAM CONTACT INFORMATION

DawnDee Hoffman (Crime Victim Compensation Program)	Compliance Specialist I	444-3728
Julie Rotar (Address Confidentiality Program) (Crime Victim Compensation Program)	Compliance Specialist I	444-4280
Holley Johnson (Crime Victim Compensation)	Program Specialist II	444-5613
Elise Landles-Batey (Restitution) (Hope Card)	Restitution Officer	444-5803
Marcie Curey	Compliance Technician	444-5648
Kayla Bragg (Fatality Review Commission)	Director	444-5896